Applied Science

Specification: Edexcel
Subject entry requirements: GCSE grade 4 or higher in English and GCSE grade 4:4 or higher in Science

The BTEC Level 3 National Certificate in Applied Science has two qualification sizes. The BTEC Applied Science Diploma, this is equivalent in size to 2 A levels and will allow learners to complete 8 exciting units. The BTEC Applied Science Extended Certificate, this is equivalent in size to 1 A level and learners will complete 4 units.
The qualification will combine aspects of Biology, Chemistry and Physics. Throughout the course key skills and relevant industry procedures will be learnt. The BTEC Applied Science will incorporate the following units:


  • Unit 1: Principles and Applications of Science (externally assessed exam)
  • Unit 2: Practical Scientific Procedures and Techniques (internally assessed)
  • Uint 3: Scientific Investigation Skills (externally marked practical task)
  • Unit 4: Laboratory Techniques and their Application (externally assessed exam)

Year 13

  • Unit 5: PrinciplesandApplicationsofScienceII (externally assessed exam)
  • Unit 6: InvestigativeProject(internallyassessed) Optional Unit (details TBC)

Optional Unit (details TBC)
Learners can pursue many degree programmes that relate to Science, Biochemistry, Biomedical Science and Sports Science. Employers value the key skills that BTECs equip learners with such as:

  • Cognitive and problem-solving skills: critical thinking, applying creative solutions, use of systems and new technology
  • Intrapersonal skills: communication, working collaboratively with others, negotiating and presenting to an audience
  • Interpersonal skills: self-management, adaptability and resilience, self-monitoring and continued personal development.

Your BTEC National will be your passport to success which will prepare you for your future!

For further information contact: